Friday, May 25, 2012

Stages of Gout

Stages of Gout

According to the National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS) there are four stages of gout:

• Asymptomatic (without symptoms) hyperuricemia

• Acute gout, or acute gouty arthritis

• Interval or intercritical gout

• Chronic tophaceous gout

Tophaceous Gout

“Chronic tophaceous gout. This is the most disabling stage of gout. It usually develops over a long period, such as 10 years. In this stage, the disease may have caused permanent damage to the affected joints and sometimes to the kidneys."
Continue article at Empowher

I wonder if tophaceous is the stage I was at? I was blessed from time to time with a day or two where I had almost no pain or stiffness. But this was usually when it was transferring to a different joint. I am very fortunate that I never had gout in more than one joint at a time. It would switch from right to left and back again. And when it got my knees, it was just one knee at a time and no other joint.

Been gout free for over a year now and I ain't going back!


  1. Good sharing. I read articles title “To Those Having Gout Problem” mentioned that a special gout remedy call gout papaya green tea extract extremely good to help cure gout issue. See the article at:

  2. Arthritis is a disease of inflammation which can cause pain and disabling. People of all ages and sexes can have arthritis. Natural Home Remedies for Arthritis provide you a safer alternative to treat arthritis than relying solely on prescription and over- the- counter drugs. Ayurveda has solutions for all type of diseases and it works effectively on arthritis. Using Ayurvedic Remedies for Arthritis will be a good option to reduce swelling and pain which can cause arthritis.